Founded in 1869 by an ordinance of the Otago Provincial Council led by Thomas Burns, University of Otago is New Zealand’s first collegiate university. Otago was the first University in Oceania to permit women to take a law degree. The University’s main campus is in Dunedin, an Information and Teaching center in Central Auckland, Portobello Marine Laboratory inside Otago Harbour, an information office in Wellington and Health Sciences campuses in Christchurch and Wellington.

The University has links with the Matariki Network of Universities (MNU) which include colleges like University of Western Australia (Australia), University of Tübingen (Germany), Queen’s University (Canada), Dartmouth College (US), Durham University (UK) and Uppsala University (Sweden).


Why choose University of Otago?
The University of Otago has links with fourteen residential colleges with ten libraries, seven of which are in Dublin. According to a survey conducted by the Ministry of Research, Science and Technology in 2006, Otago is the best University in terms of research quality. It is called the most research intensive University in New Zealand as 40% of the University staff is devoted towards research and development. The University contains almost 3000 international students from more than 100 countries which makes it a 13.6% share of international student in the campus.

Offered Programs / Brief Overview of Programs / Departments / Faculties:

The University has four academic divisions:
  • Division of Humanities – Courses provided are Law, Asian Studies and Social Work.
  • Division of Health Sciences – Courses provided are Medical Sciences, Dentistry, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy.
  • Division of Sciences- Courses provided are Consumer and Applied Sciences, Physical Education, Surveying, Genetic research and Computer and information technology.
  • School of Business – Courses provided are Major subjects for the BCom degree and postgraduate diplomas and degrees like the MBA programme.
What is the tution fees for studying in University of Otago?